Zemgale Planning Region is under the supervision of LR Environmental Protection and Regional Development Ministry and according to the Regional Development Law has a status of derived public person. The decision-making authority of Planning Region is Zemgale Planning Region Development Council, which is appointed at the General Meeting of all the heads of the local municipalities comprising from the municipal deputies of the region. Zemgale Planning Region Council consists of 6 appointed members.